Ordination Of Lutheran Pastors Set For September 10

Three new Lutheran pastors will be ordained Saturday, September 10 in a service at Faith Lutheran Church in Lakewood.

Bishop Elizabeth A. Eaton of the Northeastern Ohio Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) will preside and preach at the service and ordain the new pastors as ministers of word and sacrament.

The service begins at 10:30 a.m. and will be followed by a reception at the church, which is located at 16511 Hilliard Road (the corner of Hilliard and Woodward). Parking will be available across the street at Harding Middle School.

Among those being ordained is Mark Rollenhagen, who has been called by Faith to serve as the congregation’s mission pastor. He is a former newspaper reporter and editor who attended Trinity Lutheran Seminary in Columbus. Mark will be installed as Faith's pastor during Faith's 10:30 a.m. Sunday worship service on September 18.

You can find out more about Faith’s renewed mission effort at www.faithlakewood.org or “like” the congregation’s Facebook page “Faith Lakewood.”

The other two new pastors who will be ordained at Faith on September 10 are: Jonathan Weaver, a Trinity Lutheran Seminary graduate who has been called to serve as an associate pastor at Lord of Life Lutheran Church in Chagrin Falls, and Sean Myers, a graduate of Gettysburg Lutheran Seminary who has been called to serve as pastor of Jerusalem Lutheran Church in Columbiana, Ohio.

The ELCA ordains new pastors after they have completed their seminary training and have been called to serve a church or other ministry.

You can find out more about the ELCA at www.elca.org and about the Northeastern Ohio Synod of the ELCA at www.neos-elca.org.

Kent Cicerchi is the music director at Faith Lutheran Church.

Kent Cicerchi

Mark Rollenhagen is the pastor-elect of Faith Lutheran Church, Lakewood.

Read More on Religion
Volume 7, Issue 17, Posted 8:32 AM, 08.24.2011